He Yelled At Me!!!

Woohoo!

Okay, before you start thinking I’m some kind of weird abused wife, remember, my husband is a smoker who has been trying to quit for 3 years to appease me, a non-smoker.

When I got home from work today I was grumpy because I was hungry and we had a minor argument about what to eat for dinner. He wanted spaghetti (his favorite meal) while I wanted anything but spaghetti. Since I’m the cook (the only thing he can make is spaghetti, mashed potatoes, and grilled steaks), I knew I’d get my way, but still wanted to make him something he’d eat. While I peeled potatoes, I decided that since we were already grumpy with each other, I might as well go for broke and asked him for a status report on the bedroom he’s supposed to be be cleaning out.

That’s when he got really annoyed and was like “I don’t know. I’m grumpy.” which he never says–he’s generally always in a good mood and/or hides his feelings deep down and won’t speak to me about it regardless of my asking what’s wrong at which point he goes outside and has a cigarette, which pisses me off even more than his silence. So for him to actually admit that he wasn’t in the mood was amazing!

Me being me, though, I was like “and why are you grumpy”? And that’s when he shouted “Because I haven’t been smoking, okay?!”

Dawwww! I teared up a bit :-). And I gave him a big hug and a kiss. And I told him that if I hadn’t already peeled half the potatoes I would have made him the spaghetti. Seriously; if he’d told me when I walked in the door that he was seriously trying to quit (I think this may be the first time he doesn’t have a pack in the wings…maybe…I’m afraid to ask), he would have gotten the spaghetti without argument.

Now, I know, I know. We’ve been here many times before. His last confirmed cigarette was late New Years Eve. Like I said, I don’t want to ask him if he has a pack waiting in the wings because the last thing I want to do is make him upset so that he gets one. Been there, done that. But when his son called a little while ago and asked about the tradition of the groom’s family paying for the rehearsal dinner (which would probably be okay if they’d asked us at the beginning so we’d be part of the planning of the dinner, but the wedding is in a month and we don’t have the money saved, but I don’t really see his fiance wanting us to pay and it was her dad who brought it up with his son, so I don’t really know what was going on), my husband said afterwards “I picked a hell of a time to quit smoking” which I have NEVER heard him say!!!

It’s always been “I’ll try” and “Maybe” and “I’m trying”. So, you can see why I’m excited about him possibly finally quitting for real!

The next three weeks will be interesting. I figure that’s how long it’ll take for his body to work through all the withdrawal stuff and he’ll be less grumpy. Though really, so long as I stick to the normally scheduled pleasant stuff (no hounding him about cleaning that bedroom or bugging him about his pack; the stuff I already know will annoy him) I wouldn’t know anything is different. In fact, he’s is downright adorable right now!

…I just wish I could know if he has a pack somewhere…BUT! I won’t ask…maybe…We’ll see. I’ll try to keep y’all posted!

Leave a Reply

