The Cincinnati Red Stalkings by Troy Soos

My dad was the one to first read the Mickey Rawlings Series many many moons ago. He read them out of order depending on what was on the shelf at the library and I kind of read them behind him, but realized that I hated the parts that were missing. I only recently began re-reading this series starting from the beginning and I must say that it’s a better experience.

These books stand alone just fine, but you’ll miss out on the character interactions if you go out of order.

Oddly enough, even though I probably read all of the first 5 books in this series before (this being #5), this is the one that I definitely remembered reading. It didn’t mean I could remember the ending, but I definitely remembered it.

I also remember not particularly caring for it at the time. I still can’t place my finger on why this is my least favorite book in the series, but I suspect it has something to do with Prohibition and gambling/Mob….maybe just the gambling/Mob connections since Prohibition isn’t a new item for this series. Or maybe it is since this one introduces Prohibition (maybe I have read the next book in the series without remembering so). Maybe it’s because the historical connection, since it is Prohibition and the gambling scandals, isn’t as compelling at the earlier dealings with race, unions, etc. I’m not sure. Maybe it’s simply because I read them out of order and couldn’t figure out the characters very well!

I do know that I enjoyed this book this time a lot more than I did the previous time. It you like baseball and don’t mind a murder mystery, this is a great series for you. Soos does a heck of a job researching the games and the real life events! He even responded to a complaint I made about Murder at Wrigley Field, which should have been called Murder at Weeghman Park because that’s what it’s name was during the time that the book was set and that’s the name the park went by throughout the book (Wrigley wouldn’t buy the park until after the end of the book). It turned out that his publishers had insisted on calling it Wrigley on the cover to help it sell better since they were still insisting on the “Murder at…” format. He gave in to the publishers, but had wanted the more accurate title. There’s nothing that annoys me more than facts being made up rather than doing the research.

Baseball Poster Memorabilia
Baseball Poster Memorabilia by cardland
Look at other Cubs Posters at zazzle.com
Leave a Reply

