Idea Bank #29: Fictional Loves

Since I haven’t finished a book yet this week (I’m only in the middle of 3 right now), I’ve decided to prove I still exist with another installment of the Idea Bank:

In a fantasy world, forget about spouses and loves, if you could fall in love with a movie or tv character, name 5 you would choose. Not the actors but the movie characters.

First of all, I’m going to expand this a bit to include a few book characters.

Number 1 on my list: The Doctor

No, I’m not really picky. (The War Doctor is by himself simply because I couldn’t find a proper image of all 13).

Number 2 on my list: Is a toss-up between Acheron or Styxx. Right now Styxx might have a slight upperhand because he got a slightly shorter end of the stick. But definitely if you’re going to read ONLY these two books in the Dark-Hunter series, read Acheron’s first. But if you like not-your-typical-vampires/Greek mythology fantasy romance novels, these are totally right up your alley and I say start with Night Pleasures so you can learn all the nuances of these characters! Rated M for Mature, though.

Number 3: Darling Cruel from Born of Silence part of The League series. It’s pretty standard that the males in a Sherrilyn Kenyon book will be beat down physically and emotionally so that they can be saved by the woman they would never have believed to exist. Darling takes that premise to a WHOLE new level. I think I started crying while reading this book 2 or 3 times because his case was so awful. I’d suggest starting with Born of Night so that, again, you can learn his backstory before you reach this book. The hints you learn early on will increase the experience when you finally get to read his story.

Okay…I promise that I won’t choose any more of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s characters for this post. Though…I think there’s only 4 that immediately jump out at me (all from the Dark-Hunter Series): Vane, Fang, Zarek and Valerius. (Links go to their books via Amazon).

Number 4: Malone from Catch of the Day by Kristan Higgins. Strong and silent yet happily smitten with a klutzy, talkative town sweetheart. Oddly enough, Malone here is probably the closest we’ll come to my actual boyfriend. Though…BF does have his issues that align him more closely with the first “3” listed here. Anyway. Higgins is my go to when I need a quick and happy read. There’s just enough drama to keep things interesting, but not so much as to make me worry that a happy ending won’t happen.

And finally Number 5: Once again I have a toss up between Morpheus of the Splintered series and Harry Dresden of The Dresden Files. These would be the guys that would be hella interesting to be with, but based on their characterization in their respective series, would be prone to dramatics and not just because of the danger involved in their lives. While my earlier choices have had their share of personal issues affecting their relationships, they’re all open to the possibility of finding “The One” (yes, even The Doctor). Morpheus, however, tends to be a bit too much on the selfish side and Harry is currently stuck in a holding pattern of poor decision making in the romance department. Both can be redeemed, but in my opinion, it’d be more the work of the woman than them.

My own experience with a guy who had been in a “holding pattern of poor decision making in the romance department” (i.e. my current boyfriend), the fact that he met me and THEN decided to dump the dead-weight girlfriend, then took another 2 years to ask me out gave him plenty of time to work a few things out about relationships for himself before he started one with me.

One thought on “Idea Bank #29: Fictional Loves

Leave a Reply

