Getting Old is the Best Revenge

I was so excited after reading Getting Old is Murder, I decided to read the second book in the series next. For the most part, it didn’t disappoint.

I loved the depth of Gladdy’s character. I tend to read what I call fluffy books–ones where the main characters don’t deal with too much real hardship. At the end of the day, these are Cozy Mysteries, so there’s nothing too upsetting, but at least she’s allowed to have some doubts about life. It’s nice to find someone real who isn’t so real that they’re utterly depressing.

I wasn’t as surprised by the murderer’s reveal, though there were still a couple twists that kept me on my toes. I think I’ve pinned down Ms. Lakin’s formula, but I’m hopeful that she’ll be able to keep the series exciting. The girls are predictable in that I know that they’ll do something funny and *SPOILER ALERT*: you can’t go wrong with a mob of 70+ year old women taking down a relatively youthful murderer, hehehe.

This book ended on a bit of a cliffhanger, but I just got 5 books from the library and a book from Blogging for Books, so it will be awhile before I return to Ms. Gold’s shenanigans (or the appropriate Yiddish equivalent).

Cartoon Cruise Ship Let's Go Cruisin
Cartoon Cruise Ship Let’s Go Cruisin by PartyHearty
Look at Cruising Luggage Tags online at Zazzle.com
Leave a Reply

