On my boyfriend’s nickname

I’ve read plenty of blogs where the male significant other and/or kids have a cute nickname that the blogger uses in lieu of their actual name. For the past week or so, while realizing that I’d like to use this as a place to write about more than just the books I’ve read while I play personal shopper, I’ve debated whether to continue with “my boyfriend” or use his actual nickname. You see, he does have one which I use quite often and which he likes just as much as I do. I’ve tried to use it a couple times while writing posts and it just doesn’t feel right to throw it around so flippantly. It’s our special nickname used when I’m especially happy with him to convey just that little extra something when “I love you” has become more like “I’m sorry”.

So, if anyone gets tired of me calling him “my boyfriend” (or however that may change), you’ll just have to deal with it. Because here’s the only time I plan on alluding to him as Lugnut, cuz it’s probably the best nickname for a significant other I’ve ever heard :-). The guy is a foot and a half taller than me (“a big lug”), can be quite silly, and adores working on cars.

Leave a Reply

